Lumphanan Golf Club Banner
Introduction and Club History

Established in 1924, the club thrived in its early years. At the peak of its popularity in the 1930s it was possible to buy a Sunday excursion train ticket from Aberdeen to Lumphanan for 4s/6d, which included a round of golf and afternoon tea at the hotel. After the Second World War the membership declined and with the closing of the Royal Deeside Railway line, the club was disbanded in 1967, the course falling into total disrepair in the ensuing two decades.

A view of the 6/15th hole.

In the late 1980s moves were made to reinstate the club but the cost of rebuilding the 9-hole course was prohibitive for Lumphanan's small community. Nevertheless, the villagers wanted their golf club back and a lack of funds was not going to stand in the way.

Through the shear hard work and determination of a few local champions, a new course emerged from the wilderness. The re-creation of the course took a number of years winning the help and support of many in the local community. All the equipment was borrowed and much of the material donated.

The club finally reopened in 1994. Since then a clubhouse has been built and the club is now an essential part of the local community. In 1999 further course improvements were undertaken and in 2000 Colin Wood, President of the Scottish Golf Union, officially opened the golfing gem we see today. To read a little local history click here.